Extra, Extra, Extra! Read All About It!

Image

My career as a music therapist has endured many changes over the past 11 years.  I have moved to different states and have worked under many different titles likes “vocal instructor”, “music educator”, “traveling music therapist”, “pre-k teacher”, “music therapist”, “lion tamer”.  Okay maybe that last one has more to do with taming children than lions, but needless to say I have worked in many different places over the years.

Another change is coming to my career, but it is very similar to what I already do.  It is also something I have always loved doing!  I will be running music groups with children.  Not only with children but with their families who love them.  I have decided to take the plunge and get trained to be a Music Together Director and Teacher.  This all came together rather quickly, just within the past week!  My mom asked me if there was anything unique she could give my little one for her birthday, like a music and movement class.  I of course said, “Music Together!!!”  They market heavily to music therapists, so I have always loved the program.  It was then that I realized, “wait. . . .I should research this again and see if it’s something I could do.”  Why send her to a class taught by someone else when I could take her with me to EVERY class and make music with her?  I previewed a class and loved it!  I can definitely do this.  And within a week, Music Together awarded me a scholarship to attend the training in Denver for half price, they gave me a ton of great information on the program, and I am working on two locations to start my Music Together center!  I am so excited I can hardly stand it!!!!!

So friends, family and colleagues, here it is.  The Music Together folks will be in Denver the first weekend of August to train new teachers and directors.  After that, I will apply for a license to open centers in Lone Tree, Evergreen and Golden.  I am still hunting for a good location to rent a room in Golden, so if you have any connections with churches or dance centers or any other place with space please contact me ASAP!  Licensure takes 4-6 weeks, so once I receive that, I will announce the official Music Together locations and get started with FREE demo classes and will hopefully start classes in October!

For those of you in the Denver area, classes will be for ages 1-5 along with their caregivers.  Special needs children are welcome!!!!!  I will be offering FREE demo classes once I received my license, and those who attend the demo classes will have a one time chance to sign up for the Fall session at a nice discount.  You won’t want to miss this!   So tell your friends and family!  Spread the word.  Follow my blog for the progress on this new adventure.  You can also stay updated on Facebook by “liking” me–check out the sidebar to your left.  This is going to be fun 🙂

Learn more about the Music Together program by visiting their website at:  www.musictogether.com

Watch an informative video that shows what a class looks like!  http://www.musictogether.com/video_families

One thought on “Extra, Extra, Extra! Read All About It!

Leave a Reply

